- SC-300 is Microsoft's exam code for the Identity and Access Administrator Associate certification.
- The exam covers four domains, with authentication and access management weighted highest at 25-30%.
- The pass mark is 700 on a 1000-point scale, not a fixed percentage of correct answers.
- The credential stays valid for 12 months and renews through a free, open-book assessment.
What SC-300 Actually Means
"SC-300" is simply Microsoft's internal exam code for the certification titled Microsoft Identity and Access Administrator, which maps to the credential Microsoft Certified: Identity and Access Administrator Associate. The "SC" prefix is part of Microsoft's naming convention for security-focused role-based exams, and "300" is the numeric identifier assigned to this particular exam within that family. Passing exam SC-300, delivered through Pearson VUE, is what earns you the Associate-level badge.
It's worth being precise about this because several unrelated credentials in other industries also use the string "SC-300." This site and this article are exclusively about the Microsoft exam and certification - nothing else shares its exam content, fee structure, or domain weighting, so don't cross-reference facts from other "SC-300" programs you might find elsewhere.
Why Microsoft Named It This Way
Microsoft's exam numbering isn't random - it groups certifications by discipline. Exams beginning with "SC" sit in the security, compliance, and identity track, distinguishing them from "AZ" (Azure infrastructure) or "MS" (Microsoft 365 workload) exams. Within that "SC" family, SC-300 specifically targets professionals who design, implement, and operate identity and access solutions using Microsoft Entra ID and related tooling.
Understanding this naming logic matters practically: it tells you the exam's center of gravity is identity, not general cloud administration. If you're coming from a broader Azure background and wondering exactly what falls inside scope, the What Is SC-300? overview and the more detailed SC-300 Certification page both walk through how this exam fits into Microsoft's certification catalog.
Exam Format and Mechanics
The SC-300 exam is delivered as a proctored, computer-based test through Pearson VUE, with remote proctoring available where supported. Candidates get 100 minutes to complete the exam itself, though the standard appointment block runs 120 minutes to account for check-in, the NDA screen, and post-exam surveys.
The exact number of scored and unscored questions is not publicly disclosed by Microsoft, but Microsoft's exams in this Associate range typically fall somewhere between 40 and 60 items - that's a general pattern across the certification family, not a confirmed count specific to SC-300. Expect a mix of question formats; Microsoft states interactive components are possible on this exam, though the precise type and lab mix aren't detailed in the public exam summary.
Official pass rates for SC-300 are not publicly disclosed by Microsoft. If you've seen specific numbers floating around forums or prep vendor sites, treat them with skepticism - for context on what data actually exists (and doesn't), review SC-300 Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
What the Four Domains Cover
The name "Identity and Access Administrator" is a fairly literal description of the job the exam certifies you for. The current English-language exam outline (effective April 27, 2026) organizes content into four domains:
Domain 1: Implement and manage user identities (20-25%)
Covers creating, configuring, and managing user and group objects, along with external identity scenarios.
- Hybrid identity concepts and synchronization basics
- Bulk user/group management and lifecycle operations
Domain 2: Implement authentication and access management (25-30%)
This is the largest domain in the official exam summary, reflecting how central authentication controls are to the identity administrator role.
- Multifactor authentication and Conditional Access policy design
- Self-service password reset and authentication methods
Domain 3: Plan and implement workload identities (20-25%)
Focuses on securing applications, service principals, and managed identities rather than human users.
- App registrations and enterprise application configuration
- Managed identity scenarios for automated workloads
Domain 4: Plan and automate identity governance (20-25%)
Covers entitlement management, access reviews, and privileged access workflows.
- Privileged Identity Management (PIM) role assignments
- Access reviews and entitlement management packages
A note on domain weighting: there's a discrepancy worth flagging. Microsoft's official summary lists Domain 2 at 25-30%, making authentication and access management the largest domain - but the detailed heading elsewhere in the outline shows 20-25% for the same domain. This article uses the summary figure as the primary reference, but the underlying source conflict is unresolved as of publication. For a domain-by-domain study plan that accounts for this, check the SC-300 Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas.
| Domain | Weight | Core Focus |
|---|---|---|
| 1. User identities | 20-25% | Creating/managing users, groups, external identities |
| 2. Authentication & access | 25-30%* | MFA, Conditional Access, SSPR |
| 3. Workload identities | 20-25% | App registrations, managed identities |
| 4. Identity governance | 20-25% | PIM, access reviews, entitlement management |
*Official summary figure; detailed heading source lists 20-25% for the same domain.
Who Actually Earns This Credential
The job title baked into the certification's name - Identity and Access Administrator - reflects who actually pursues SC-300 in practice. Typical candidates already work in or are targeting roles centered on managing Microsoft Entra ID (formerly Azure AD), enforcing Conditional Access, administering hybrid identity environments, or supporting governance and compliance controls around who can access what.
Microsoft doesn't list a formal degree requirement, prior certification, or a quantified number of experience or training hours as prerequisites. There's no official reference list either. That said, the exam assumes working familiarity with Azure, Microsoft 365, Active Directory Domain Services, PowerShell, and Kusto Query Language (KQL) - because identity administrators routinely script changes, query sign-in logs, and manage hybrid AD/Entra environments day to day. If you're unsure whether your background lines up, the SC-300 Requirements 2026 page details eligibility expectations in full.
For a sense of how this credential translates into actual job postings and titles, see SC-300 Jobs, and for compensation context tied specifically to identity-administration roles, review the SC-300 Salary Guide 2026.
Registration and Cost Mechanics
Exam registration happens through Pearson VUE, and Microsoft's generic baseline price for Associate-level exams is typically listed around US$165. The current, exact SC-300 checkout fee in the U.S. is not independently verified here, and regional taxes or localized pricing can shift the final total - there's no separate member/non-member pricing tier for this exam. Rather than relying on secondhand numbers, always confirm the live price at checkout before you schedule. A fuller pricing breakdown, including how regional variation plays out, lives at SC-300 Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Scheduling logistics - testing windows, how far in advance to book, and what to do if you need to reschedule - are covered separately in SC-300 Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Mapping Study Time to the SC-300 Name
Because the certification name literally describes two job functions - identity management and access management - it makes sense to split preparation time along those same lines rather than treating the exam as one undifferentiated block of content.
Identity fundamentals (Domain 1)
- Practice creating and managing users, groups, and external identities in a test tenant
- Review hybrid identity synchronization concepts
Authentication and access (Domain 2)
- Build and test Conditional Access policies since this domain carries the heaviest weight
- Configure MFA and self-service password reset scenarios
Workload identities (Domain 3)
- Register applications and configure managed identities
- Practice with service principal permissions
Governance and review (Domain 4)
- Work through PIM role activation and access review workflows
- Run full-length practice exams and revisit weak domains
This isn't a generic weekly template applied blindly - it's sequenced so the heaviest-weighted domain (authentication and access) gets a dedicated week early enough to reinforce with hands-on labs before your exam date. For a more complete walkthrough of preparation strategy, including resource selection, see the SC-300 Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and practice under real exam-style conditions using timed questions on the main practice test site before you schedule the real thing.
Key Takeaway
Don't study the four domains equally by default - allocate extra practice time to authentication and access management given its higher weighting in the official domain summary, then confirm your readiness with full-length timed practice sets on our practice tests.
What "Valid" Means After You Pass
Once you earn the Identity and Access Administrator Associate badge, it remains valid for 12 months. Renewal doesn't require retaking the full paid exam - Microsoft offers a free, open-book, unproctored renewal assessment that becomes available during the six months before your certification expires. There's no continuing education unit (CDU/CEU/CPE) quota to track separately; the renewal assessment itself is the mechanism that keeps your credential current.
Restricted Microsoft Learn access is tied to your certification status, and remote proctoring is offered where supported for the initial exam. Details on calculator availability or whether the exam adapts question difficulty in real time haven't been independently verified, so avoid assuming either feature is guaranteed when you sit down to test.
If you're still deciding whether investing exam fees and study time is worthwhile given your career goals, Is the SC-300 Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 lays out the trade-offs without inflating numbers that aren't publicly confirmed.
Frequently Asked Questions
No - SC-300 is an exam code, not an acronym that spells out a phrase. "SC" denotes Microsoft's security/compliance/identity exam family, and "300" is simply the assigned number. The full name of what you earn is Microsoft Certified: Identity and Access Administrator Associate. For a closer look at the letters themselves, see What Does SC-300 Stand For?
Technically, SC-300 is the exam code for "Microsoft Identity and Access Administrator." Passing it earns you the Microsoft Certified: Identity and Access Administrator Associate certification. In everyday usage, people use "SC-300" to refer to both interchangeably.
Four domains: user identities, authentication and access management, workload identities, and identity governance. Authentication and access management is weighted highest in the official summary at 25-30%, though a separate detailed heading in Microsoft's outline lists it at 20-25% - an unresolved discrepancy in the source material.
You need a scaled score of 700 out of 1000. This scaled score does not correspond directly to a percentage of correct answers, since Microsoft weights individual questions differently based on difficulty and domain.
Microsoft does not list a mandatory prior certification, degree, or specific number of experience hours. However, the exam assumes you're already comfortable with Azure, Microsoft 365, AD DS, PowerShell, and KQL, since these tools come up throughout real identity administration work.